Be Kind to Others

Smiles are FREE – Give them away!

SMILE

Hello again readers!!

Smile more! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been told that my mood was contagious – I’m known for wearing my emotions on my face. I’m not as good as I thought I was at pretending. When I came to the realization of how much my mood affected others, I knew that I never wanted to have a negative effect on anyone. Let’s face it; we can’t always be on point at all times. We all have moments or days when we don’t feel good, or we are in a bad mood. The reason doesn’t matter so much – the point is, we are human and we are not always going to be in a perfect mood.

Remember that whether we like it or not, on most days, we will be around other people. Maybe it’s at school, work, or just walking by people at the store – there are other people in the world from all walks of life, living their own journeys and dealing with different issues and events just like the rest of us. We have no way of knowing where they have been, where they are going, what they are thinking, who influences them, how they are treated –no way.

I say that it has never hurt anyone to get a smile from someone. How many times have you walked by someone who smiled at you and you smiled back? It’s contagious. Now, I am sure you thinking, “But Nicole, I have also walked by people who I’ve smiled at and they didn’t notice or didn’t smile back” – Yes, that might undoubtedly be true too. Not everyone has the “case of the smiles” I suppose. Don’t make it your mission to only smile in order to get one back. The more you do it; it will become natural to you anyway. Some people might need the smile in that moment and most people will smile back. Wouldn’t you like to be the reason someone has a pleasant interaction? Maybe you smile at someone who is already in a good mood. Perfect! Show them they are not alone and it’s okay to be happy. Maybe you will smile at someone who is having a rough day. Again, show them they are not alone and it’s okay to be happy.

-Ian Somerhalder is someone I greatly admire. He is one of my inspirations. If you don’t know who he is, I recommend you start finding out. Until then, I am sharing him and his message with you. It’s perfect.

The moral is that it takes fewer muscles in your face to smile at someone and make their day better. I’m not asking you to change the world with your smile. But maybe, just maybe you will shine a light on someone’s day. It costs nothing to give a smile away. You can give out one, or thousands.

Are you feeling down today for some reason? Don’t let your bad mood spread to someone else today. Take a self-less moment, put a smile on your face knowing you are a part of a chain of positivity even if you don’t feel your best. You might surprise yourself. Your own smile just might cheer you up as well.

I’ll be in touch! -xo-

smile 4

“Every time you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing” – Mother Theresa

Leave a Reply

