On Life

It’s a bad day, not a bad life…

Hello readers! I’m reflecting in between my writing and school work, going through the motions of a pensive state I suppose and thought I’d share a quick thought of words to remember.

I would be lying if I ever promoted the idea that I am always positive or feeling fantastic about myself or my dreams, or even just my day to day activities. I spend a good amount of time finding gratitude in everything that I do have, and once in a while this does make me feel as though I always need to be at my best.

BUT – I’m not.

This doesn’t mean that I am down and out, unmotivated, depressed or feeling sorry for myself because my life isn’t what most people considered grand.

In fact, I think I have an amazing life. We can always find the things we do not have, but I know that despite those things I’d like to have or people I wish to have in my life, I remind myself that right now, in this moment, I have the perfect people in my life that I need.

I would rather be surrounded by a FEW people that inspire me, bring me up and remind me of my goals and dreams than be surrounded by MANY people who are just there to fill in space.

I don’t want anyone in my life that doesn’t want to be there, and I don’t want anyone in my life who chooses to be, but is bad for my soul. Unfortunately, this might mean that I might have to distance myself from people who may not understand. I’ve learned this is okay too, because I can’t live my life in order to nurture theirs. This is one of the only times I think it’s okay to be selfish. I have to take care of ME first and foremost, or I can’t be my best for those around me.

This is my journey and in the end, I have to be around ME for the rest of my life, so my requirement is to be happy and fill my life with joy.

Anyone who is reading this understands that life is not perfect. We can’t predict the actions of others, and sometimes we all just have “off” days. My wish for you is that you have at least one, if not a couple of people you can count on to get you through those days. Maybe they just understand that you need to be left alone. Maybe they know the right thing to say to make you smile your way through it. Whatever it might be, know that it’s okay to not be “ON” everyday. It’s only a bad day, not a bad life.

God Bless,

-xoxo-

Leave a Reply

