On Writing

How I did with NANOWRIMO

pretty good

I wish I was able to update with an “I WON NANOWRIMO”; however, simply put, I did not make my goal. This was my first year trying it out, and I realize that outlining is just necessary for that project. Unless of course you are someone that doesn’t need ANY structure at all and can just come up with anything and everything to create a story off the top of your head, write without hesitation…well then I say by gosh man YOU GO ON WITH YOUR BAD SELF.

I had a LOT more going on in November than I anticipated. In the beginning I had finals, then in the middle I was working on a few other projects, and I just took on too much. I could have and should have made a little more effort BUT I have to focus on the progress I did make. I wrote just over 12,000 words and it’s 12,000 more words than I had prior.

I am writing a story that really means something to me, but there is still a lot of it that needs to be fleshed out ahead of time in order to really tell the story I want to tell. Sometimes I am just not sure how I want to go about doing that yet. I also didn’t slap my inner editor, so I wasted some time on that as well. Let me tell you, it’s true that this is a huge NO-NO when trying to write! Just write!

It’s hard for sure, but otherwise you will never make progress, like me…during this NANOWRIMO – I will NOT be making that mistake again!

I’m not giving up, and I am still writing – but balance is definitely needed and I am working on that. With that being said, I am proud of myself for trying something new 🙂

To all of you writers out there, keep on keeping on. Great stories that need to be told, are worth the effort.

-xo-

2 thoughts on “How I did with NANOWRIMO

  1. My first Nano was a disaster. Camp Nano came well prepared, and this November I got to 50 K thanks to a good preparation. So I agree with you on the preparation front. Good for you that you tried new thing and kept writing. Good luck on your project!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Yeah, I had no idea really what to expect. I will definitely look into Camp Nano as well and try again. If anything, it really helps keep consistent juices flowing 🙂 Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

