Other Bookish Things

My Top 6 BOOKISH GOALS for 2016

Fiction

Well hello there everyone!

Alright…So I’ve decided to let you all in on my goals regarding bookish things for this year – 2016.

While I love spreading joy and inspiration to my followers, this blog is also about my writing journey and all things BOOKS. I love books. I love reading them, writing them (which I am currently in the process of working on slowly but surely), discussing them, buying them- you get the picture, so I figured I better start proving that, by blogging about them too!

I’ve spent a good deal of time in the last few months trying to figure out which goals I wanted to focus in on more. Going to school and my overall lack of focus and balance there for a little while has been a terrible hindrance over my decision making when it’s come to my goals. However, I have finally figured out where I want to re-focus and what has and hasn’t worked, so here I am holding myself accountable by posting it. It’s like saying it OUT LOUD for all to hear.

I’ve been following the Book-Tube community for just under a year I think and I’m obsessed. I love this community! Many Book Tubers are posting their videos about their bookish goals, and I decided I wanted to do the same – in blog form!

I realize I could have done this sooner, but I didn’t; I’m here now and well, it’s only January 19th, so I’m not too behind. So let’s get right into my goals!

  1. Reduce my TBR list.

Listen, up until a couple of days ago, I had over 430 books on my TBR list on Good Reads. I spent a good ideal amount of time (by that I mean 3 hours) going through the entire list, re-reading the synopsis for each one and deleting the ones I’m just not interested in anymore or have no intention on reading anytime in the near future. I ended up with 390 books still left on my TBR. I have since added more books to the TBR (focusing on only adding ones I truly want to read AND have 4-5 star ratings. I am now back up to 400. This is insane. It overwhelms me and I need to downsize. I do not have 3 hours right now to go back through the list again, so it is what it is – for now.

BUT my goal is to start reading more on that list and try REALLY REALLY hard not to add anymore until I get through the list! I wish I could say I will get it to 150 books, but there is just no possible way for me to read that many books this year.

I’m hoping that as I read them, I’ll change my mind on others or…something! I just need to get it down!

  1. Finish series I love.

While I know there are going to be some books I start that I just do NOT like, there are several I do and have yet to finish. For example, I read “Obsidian” by Jennifer L. Armentrout last January, loved it and have yet to read the others. WHY? Because I don’t know. All I do know is I need to stop delaying and start completing series I love. They deserve to be finished.

  1. Read books for pleasure

I spent so much time last year trying to read books just to reach my goal on Good Reads that I read a lot of terrible books, OR I found myself frustrated by reading a book that I absolutely disliked and could not finish. I’m now going to only read books that I really want to read and not stress out about reaching that goal so much. Reading is fun, so why take that away from myself over some silly Good Reads goal. I still have it (I even reduced it), but it won’t be my focus – it’s not the end of the world if I don’t reach it.

  1. Start a Book-Tube Channel

I have been battling with this idea for a while now. As I stated a bit ago, I came to discover Book-Tube about 10 months ago; the more I watched, I fell in love with the process and content that these Book-tubers shared on books. I wondered to myself, “Why am I not doing this too?”

Well, I know why. One, my school and work schedule was and still is hectic, so I wasn’t sure when I’d have time to committ to this project of doing videos. Two, I didn’t and still don’t have any real fancy video making equipment and I didn’t and don’t want to submit crummy videos. Three, I am surprisingly shy with the camera. The very idea of filming myself for some reason just makes me nervous. I am not even sure why.

This is why I need to do it. I’m a big fan of pushing myself out of my comfort zone to either try new things or challenge myself. What do I have to lose? So…this is my goal. I’ve been encourage by a few to do it as well, so I will keep you updated here when I do! I have a Channel started but no videos posted yet, so I’ll link it when I have it up.

  1. Read More Historical Fiction and Classics.

My desire to get away from just romance or mystery is at it’s highest right now. As an aspiring writer, I am always trying new authors and different genres and I realized these are the two types of novels I don’t spend more time reading. I like a wide range of stories, I just want to expand upon that.

6. Do more Book Reviews

I just have never done them. Aside from the occasional quick reviews on Good Reads, I never took the time to give a detailed review. What better way to work on my writing than to write reviews? I mean why haven’t I done it sooner? Beats me, so this is my goal.

 

There you have it. I think those are plenty of goals to work on for this year. What are your book goals this year? If you watch the Book-Tubers, tell me who your favorites are and what you like watching most! Any Historical Fiction recommendations? I would love to hear them! I just want to hear from you!

Happy Reading & God Bless!

-xo-

2 thoughts on “My Top 6 BOOKISH GOALS for 2016

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! I’m sorry you are unable to start your own channel, but I am glad to hear you also enjoy watching them! They are a lot of fun! 🙂 I will certainly post my link here as soon as I get a video or two up hopefully very soon! Thanks for the support and do keep checking back for that.Thank you again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

