On Life

A Busy Week of Beginnings…

Well hello there! Yes YOU, the most amazing person(s) reading my words 🙂

I hope this message finds you well. I’ve been having a bit of a crazy week, and I figured now is as good a time as any to let you in on what I have been up to.

First, I’ve been sick the last couple of days. Some 36 hour bug or something, hit me hard, but here I am back at it again. trying to desperately catch up on everything. Before I got sick, my week started out busy anyway. I am still plugging along with my last class of college which has been fun. It’s a New Media class which helps me learn all about how I can provide you all with the best content with my blog site and share with you all the best part of me and as a writer. How’s that working out so far?

Next, I started my very first internship. Yes, you heard right. I accepted an internship position with a Literary Agency, and I am really excited about it. That is all I am really allowed to say about it – confidentiality reasons and all, but I am excited to have the opportunity to work with the company and learn a little more about the Publishing world and everything that goes into reviewing manuscripts. It’s only the beginning, but I am dedicated! Being sick doesn’t help though of course, so I have some catching up to do – dun dun dun.

Last, but certainly not least…I applied for the MFA program with my University. It is a rather grueling process as I had to fill out an application, provide 2 letters of recommendations, write a 800-1000 word essay on why I thought they should choose me for the program, and most importantly is the 20 page writing sample manuscript.

I chose to include one of my short stories, and I added in a small excerpt of the novel I am writing. I had a hard time choosing to send them only because I don’t think they are 100% perfect, but then I had to remind myself that I might never think my writing is perfect. I just need to get it out there for people to see.

I plan to do that here too for you all. After all, you are my audience; your opinion does matter to me. Even though I do write from the heart, it only means something to me if my readers enjoy it, and how can they do that if I don’t share my writing, right?

Okay, so my application is in, and I still have class and the internship to work on, so I better get to reading – I must admit, I also binged on Fuller House while I was sick. Yeah, that came out this week on Netflix. Can you say nostalgia? Completely corny, yet slightly lovable nostalgia.

Oh and I might have started binging on Bates Motel as well…Yeah, that was an accident and now I am hooked – BUT – PRIORITIES FIRST! I have a manuscript due for review so I’m off for now.

How do I do it all, you ask? I made friends with coffee.

 

-xoxo

 

first I drink the coffee

 

Leave a Reply

