On Writing

Quick update & new story in progress

Hi everyone!

I am still alive! I know in my previous post I mentioned that I will be pausing on my blog, but this does not mean I won’t try and check in from time to time and let you all know what I am up to! I just want to be sure that I do focus on my writing, so I will have content that is worth sharing!

Well, I have been doing just that. These last couple of weeks I have been VERY busy with reading, my internship, reading, writing, more writing, job searching and more reading! It’s a crazy cycle, and my brain is tired BUT it’s all going to be worth it!

With that being said, I thought I’d share an update on the novel I have been working on. I decided that I wasn’t sure what story I was telling with that one. Initially told as a romance between two unlikely characters after the death of the girls grandmother leading her to move to a smaller town on the East Coast, where she has inherited a piece of property that needs some work. This is still an idea that I am working on, but figuring out the direction and conflict within the story to make it lovable is still in progress. So I have put this to the side for now while I think about it.

Suddenly though, about a week or so ago, another story came to me and it’s one that I haven’t forgotten. So, I began writing. I will say that I am still figuring it out as I write BUT I feel much more connected to this story and the characters right now.

I will update you more as I write, but what I will say this about it: Have you ever looked at someone who is struggling in life – due to domestic violence or being homeless or a drug addict, wanted to help them or just wondered how they got in that position and where they will end up? Perhaps you asked yourself, what if they got just a little help, what would they do with it? Where would their life take them?

Well, I do all of the time. So, I decided to write a story about it. It’s a story about a girl, Elena, who reached out to help a man, Noah, when he needed it most even though she didn’t realize it. A year later, he finds her and ends up helping her when she needs it only she doesn’t know he’s the man she helped a year before that and they develop a relationship (friendship and romance) under unlikely circumstances. It’s a story about struggle and triumph and learning how people come into your life for a reason and the events that happen along the way will break your heart, but they will also inspire you and make you fall in love with them, life and the journey. That is all I will say about it for now as I work on it more, but I wanted to give you an idea on where I am at.

The title for this one is called, “Alive”, and I am pretty excited about this one! I want to do these character’s justice.

So, please know I am still around, and I want to give my page attention, but I want to make sure that when I share information, it’s honest and full of information about my process that is significant.

I have also recently had an unexpected pet emergency with my fur kitty, Jessie, and dealing with the financial hurdle of this and many other things, but I am trying to stay positive and stay in faith that it will all work out okay 🙂

Thank you again for your patience and understanding. I’ll be in touch!

God Bless and Happy writing!

-xo-

Leave a Reply

