Other Bookish Things

ECAE2016: I met E.L. James!

Hello lovely readers!

First, I want to apologize for getting this event update up so late! I attended my College graduation in New Hampshire shortly after this event AND I’ve been slightly distracted by some personal events involving my sick kitty. It’s been tough, but I am here, and it is important to me to tell you all about my experience!

About a month ago, I attended the Emerald City Author Event which I blogged briefly about here in Seattle – where I currently live an hour south from.

It was my first author event I have ever attended, and it was made up of mostly New Adult romance authors, but I enjoyed it so much.

K.A. Tucker & I
K.A. Tucker

Over 50 authors attended the event, and I was lucky enough to meet only a handful. I first met K.A. Tucker upon first arriving and she was very kind. I had just started reading her book, “Ten Tiny Breaths” which is the first novel in her Ten Tiny Breath series.

I also met J.A. Huss who was giving away one of three of her novels we could choose from, and I picked out “Three Two One”. I haven’t had a chance to read it just yet, but she was pretty funny and very friendly.

Samantha Young who is best known for her novel “On Dublin

Samantha Young
Samantha Young

Street” and Jay Crownover, author of the novel “Rule” and “Built” just to name a few.

Jay Crownover
Jay Crownover

They were both one of a kind, absolute gems. I have to admit that every author I had the pleasure of meeting was so kind and grateful for their fans. So, we can just assume that I have nothing bad to say about any of these authors.

I met a new author Kinsey Taylor whom I’ve had the pleasure to correspond with on a few occasions because she is from Washington State, and I also met Emma Chase, Anne Jolin, Callie Hart and Jaci J.

During the event I did end up with a bit of an allergy migraine which kept me from visiting every table, but I still got to see my top favorites and have my books signed. Although, I wished I had felt better because there were a few authors in attendance that I would have loved to meet as well.

One of the other things I really loved was all of the book swag you collect. Pens, pins, book marks, stickers, key chains, magnets, bookish post cards, candy and more – whatever the authors chooses to promote their books on. It’s so much fun to go through when you get home! At least for me.

One of the major highlights of this event, though, was a surprise visit from none other than the “Fifty Shades” trilogy queen herself, E.L. James!

E. L. James
E.L. James

I mean, I can’t believe I almost could have missed her, but a little birdie told me she was behind me just before I was about to leave. I didn’t care how much my head hurt, I stayed, standing in line for the opportunity to say hello to her. It was a real treat for her to show up. She wasn’t there to sign books, but she stayed until everyone that stood in a random line that was formed for her, was able to meet her. She is a quirky and fun woman as well, and thought I looked too young to have read her books. Ha! Not even close.

Needless to say, I can’t wait to be able to attend another event like this. I enjoy many different types of books outside of romance, so I look forward to finding events with many authors or even one author that will give me an opportunity to be exposed to this world of literature that I love so much!

Until next time, Happy reading, Happy living and be kind!

God bless!

-xoxo-

Leave a Reply

