On Life · On Writing

Why I Want to be a Writer

I spend a great deal of my days in gratitude. Most people that know me, really understand that I practice my Faith regularly and try and stay positive through everything. However, I know this may come as a shock to you all, *cue the gasps* but…I am HUMAN. I know, I know, crazy isn’t it? – that no matter how positive we can be, we all have days or moments when worry gets the best of us.

Here’s my current, but temporary dilemma: I got this great Bachelor of Arts degree that is supposed to help me succeed in my area of creative writing, and yet I am having the hardest time finding jobs that will give me the experience I need. I know I am not going to find a job working in my top dream position, but how am I supposed to gain experience if no one will take a chance on me? I think to myself, “Why can’t I work on my own writing while gaining experience in editing or publishing? I enjoy the best of both worlds, so why not?”Purpose-of-Life-Quotes-002

I’ve gained some insight from many professionals in the business and it’s not that easy. But you know what? I think I have realized that it’s okay not to have it all figured out. Being a writer isn’t a one and done deal and it’s certainly not a get rich quick profession. For me, writing is a personal love that I once had for myself, and now I want to write for others. I am still learning.

I chose to become a writer because it’s not easy, and I refuse to take the easy path with my passion and dreams. It keeps me humble and always reaching for more.

I struggle far more than I’d like to sometimes, but I realized that my struggle comes from a place of wanting to be better and tell a great story. The moment it comes “too easy” for me is when I know I am not trying and no longer have a passion. I have something to say and stories to share. And, even though this is the very reason I want to write, I become discouraged from time to time, because I can’t figure out what it is I am supposed to do with my writing. I pray to God all of the time, to let me hear his voice steering me in the right direction and away from the paths that will lead me in the wrong ones.

I have a great support system, and my gratitude lies in this fact, because they are my cheerleaders – the ones that keep me motivated when I think I lose my personal motivation. They remind me of WHY I want to express that deeper side of me. So, I might not always know when or where my purpose will come to light, but GOD does, and my job is just to continue to work on the dream he placed in my heart for a reason.

My Point?

No matter what your passion is in life – whether it’s writing, teaching or something else… listen to your inner voice. If it will not go away, then it’s because you must go in that direction. Don’t ignore it even when times get tough. Believe me they just might, but it’s no reason to run from it. You never know where it will take you. I am still walking this path, but I have taken many that brought me to a destination that was better than I ever imagined because I listened.

-xoxo-

Leave a Reply

