On Life

I recently lost my fur baby…

I know this post is a bit out of the ordinary of my writing updates; however, I’ve always said that this is still a place where I want to come and share a bit of my world with you. This also means allowing myself to be vulnerable in some of my personal life in order for you to get to know me.

While, I don’t like to make excuses for my lack of writing, sometimes life hands us situations that prove to be difficult, and we just need to figure out how to overcome them.

I just recently lost my precious fur baby, Jessie to Squamous Cell Carcinoma – which is a common but incurable cancer in cats over the age of 10.

jessie 3
My baby, Jessie

No one ever tells you how it feels to lose a pet. Of course, how can someone explain that pain, angst, and heartbreak to someone who’s never felt it before? We imagine what it could possibly feel like, especially if we have lost a loved one in the family or a friend. Well, while I can’t speak for everyone, I’m pretty sure most, if not all, people whom have lost a pet will agree that the loss is gut wrenching. They become family, and when you lose them, it’s like losing a piece of yourself. I had my kitty, Jessie, for 13 years. Sending her over the “rainbow bridge” as they say (whoever “they” are), was one of the hardest decisions I have ever had to make. My heart is broken; I miss her very much, and the pain from the loss will take a while to heal. There’s nothing more that I can possibly say than that.

Yesterday, I received this beautiful, unexpected gift from the animal hospital. Upon opening it, I see Jessie’s name imprinted next to an imprint of her paw, and I lost it. In the end, though, I love it. It’s better than a sympathy card, and now I have a keepsake of my beloved fur baby. I didn’t get her ashes because I couldn’t afford it, and I had mixed feelings about it anyway, so this is perfect.

Jessie paw print
My gift: Jessie’s paw print

 

If any of you have lost a pet and want to share any stories, please do. I would love to hear them! I know it is a hard thing to go through. Thank you for listening to my sorrows and I will update again soon!

God Bless and Happy Reading and Writing!

-xoxo-

6 thoughts on “I recently lost my fur baby…

  1. I lost my fur baby, Korkie, back in November, and his buddy, Sammy, a few years ago, and it still hurts. Korkie had a rectal tumor and there wasn’t anything they could do about it. He was 13 years old and the light of my life. He made me smile everyday and now I don’t have that I feel lonely. He was a great dog, and now I don’t know if I will ever feel the same about another one. I am so sorry that you lost your baby. I will pray that your heart heals in time and you will love again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your story and experience! I think it is normal to feel lonely because these animals are family, and they become a huge part of our lives. One thing I keep being told is to not cheat myself out of loving another animal. Although I am in no hurry to get another pet right now, eventually, I believe it’s true that another loving animal may need me, so I don’t want to be afraid to love another. It is hard to fathom though. If you ever decide to, take your time and do what you feel makes you most comfortable. Thank you for your thoughts and prayers. It means a lot. I will also keep you in mine that peace and comfort will continue to be handed to you and your heart as well. God Bless You.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for your very sweet message. I know that one day I will love another animal, but right now isn’t the time. My husband and I are huge animal lovers, but I think we need some time to grieve. I know its already been 8 months, but it seems like yesterday. I agree it is very hard to fathom loving another animal, but if we are lead to a new fur baby I think we should be open to it. Again thank you for your sweet message. God Bless You too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Right after my husband and I married and purchased our home, I told him I wanted a dog. I wanted something small and fun. Not sure what i was thinking, but we ended up with a Jack Russell Terrier. His birthday was the same day as my oldest son’s, so I believed it was fate. We took him to obedience classes – the instructor laughed and told us “good luck”. He was stubborn, annoying at times, destructive, and would only listen to my husband. He wouldn’t fetch or do any tricks, but he could open cupboard doors with his nose – to only sit there and look at you asking for a treat. He was supposed to be MY dog, but he only had eyes for my husband. We had him for almost 17 years until he too developed cancer — one week he was fine and the next he was a completely different dog – but not my dog. I knew it was time to say goodbye. I was with him in his final moments – it was heart wrenching. It was so hard to leave him at the vet’s office and come home to an empty house. To never hear his clickety-clackety nails on the kitchen floor, to not find dog food all over the floor, to never have him open a cupboard door again. We always shared our bananas with him; I still sometimes find myself breaking off a piece only to remember he’s not there to share with. It’s been almost 4 years since we said goodbye. Each hour, day, week and year got better, but I still think of him often.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Beverly,
    Thank you so much for sharing your story with me. It’s always comforting to hear that we are not alone in our emotions. This is a lovely story. I have heard Jack Russell’s are difficult dogs, but I think we can’t help but love these creatures when they become a part of our homes and family. I think he loved you even if he favored your husband. When you said coming home to not hearing his paws clicking and clacking on the floor or seeing him open cupboard doors…I feel you on this. Jessie always greeted me when I walked in and when I walked around my room she would bump her little head on the back of my lead and look up at me with those precious eyes. She loved her treats and had special places she slept. Not to mention she loved plastic bags and would roll over and stretch her arms out to me. Not seeing her do that anymore is hard. Your memory of sharing the banana really gripped my heart. Aww. Each day does get a little lighter, but I am also still in the place where memories of her linger, and when I am no longer living here, I think it will help but the memory of HER in general will always be in my heart, I know. Thank you again for sharing this wonderful memory, it means a lot. God Bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

