Be Kind to Others

The U.S. needs less hate & more unity

I woke up this morning and found out with millions of others that our new President is Donald Trump. This post is not about if I am happy about it or not. It’s about unity.

This morning, I also woke up and checked my social media like many others do, without the election in mind. I was shocked and saddened by how much hate and anger was already filling my newsfeed. I am on the west coast, but all of this was before 7am my time!? Yikes! I couldn’t and still can’t believe how willing people are to start their mornings this way. And the fact of the matter is, I believe it would have been the same way if Hillary Clinton was elected.

I don’t like talking politics with people. Truth is, I don’t know everything, and I am not the type of person to debate or “argue” about things I do not know enough about. So I will not do it.

All America can hope for is that the President that represents us at any time will do what is best for us and our country . They all can say what they want about what they are going to do, but we must know that so many other people in our government are helping make the decisions. In the meantime, we must wait it out.

We need to focus on the things we can control for ourselves individually. Being hateful towards others and being angry in general over something that we either can’t change or something that hasn’t happened yet, is not the answer. It only divides us more. We need each other. I fully believe everyone has the right to speak their minds. In fact, I say, ‘go for it’, but don’t turn freedom of speech into war. This is something we are fighting so hard to end. Words hurt too. And we must remember that our beliefs don’t make us bad people. We also don’t have to agree with everything, to be at peace. Our world is becoming a scary place, but it all starts with YOU. ME. Our Neighbors etc.

I don’t care who you voted for because in the end, I truly believe we all want the same thing for the people in our country. Let’s be an example by sharing thoughts and ideas, but be kind and compassionate. We are all human.

Leave a Reply

